Stop The Madness!!!

Standard
   I hate the way Amani eats! If she’s not eating like a bird, she’s eating a bunck of crap that has the nutritional value of 0. She eats cookies, cakes ,and candy *cringes* and drinks diet soda like it’s going out of style. Although, I’d like to blame my mother completely for Amani’s unhealthy eating habits, I can’t. I find myself succumbing more and more to Amani’s wishes for McDonald’s Happy Meals and sausage biscuits in the morning. The only semi nutritional thing she likes is mango pineapple smoothies and I’m still not sure those are all that loaded with fruit.


     I work from Friday thru Tuesday with Wednesdays and Thursdays off. I dont get home until about ten thirty, which is too late for Amani to eat a full dinner. Some nights I come home and Amani will wake up in the middle of the night and want something to eat. I hate going into the kitchen and opening the refrigerator only to find it empty because we’ve been doing take out and fast food. for a month. Well, no more. I’m going to start making home cooked meals for my family.
     I have been arguing with my mother lately about her disastrous eating. She’s a diabetic…with a mean sweet tooth. I have begged, pleaded, and beseeched her countless times to stop eating so wrecklessly. She refuses and I’m just so tired of the fighting. No one else is my household of four adults (myself included) c.ooks. I have a book full of recipes that are just sitting there and I think with Amani’s eating and my mom’s sweet tooth it’s time to dust them off and put them to good use. I want to start off cooking twice a week.Twice because the dishes I make are going to be enough to have leftovers for at least one night.
     I ordered a special cookbook with special diabetic meals just for my mom. I’ll be able to satisfy her sweet tooth and curb her overeating. Of course I think it’s important for Amani to eat veggies, but just like most children she’s no big fan. I’m going to look into some kid friendly veggie recipes. I know that there will be plenty of trial and error, variations of recipes, and ones that just come out bad but I never give up especially when it comes to my daughter and mom’s health.
     Amani’s father is Jamaican and I’d love to start making West Indian dishes into my American dishes so Amani can identify with her Jamaican culture as much as her American culture. I love to bake cakes and I think I’ll love cooking. I’m already drooling about the endless possibilities!

Leave a Reply

