2013: Here I Come

Standard

I’ve decided to make some big changes this year. 2012 really gave me a wake up call about my life and it’s time to shake things up a bit. I’m always talking about my goals for life but I’ve been too scared to take the uncomfortable steps necessary to achieve any of those goals.

Ive spent so much time thinking about this space and what I really want to do with it. Yesterday I had a conversation with my younger brother and I told him that I wanted to spend more time getting Mommy In Color where I want it to be. I explained to him everything Ive been thinking about and he was impressed with all the research I had done. His only question was “What are you waiting for?”. I’m not waiting for anything anymore. Im jumping into my writing and Im not looking back. This is my PASSION and it makes me feel good to vent, share stories,and give advice.

Ive been obsessing over the one bane of my existence:my hair. When I was a little girl, my mom kept it braided. When I hit my teen years she no longer did my hair unless it was a special occassion. I threw it in a messy ponytail until my BFF introduced me to hair gel. From that point on, Ive kept a very rigid ponytail. I knew my hair was beyond damaged but I didnt want the same fate for Amani’s hair.
I started searching the web for sites and blogs that could help me keep her hair healthy without using harmful products.

While looking @ a site for bloggers there was a blog featured there about…HAIR! I immediately checked it out and found a resource that not only gave natural hair products but explained all types of different hair, good and bad hair chemicals, and great hair do’s.

I tried alot of the recommended products, experimented with the various hair tips and decided the healthiest thing for me is to… CUT OFF ALL MY HAIR!!! Okay, well maybe not all of it but definitely do a big chop. A big chop is when u cut off all of your relaxed and damaged hair. Im really excited about it because I feel like it will liberate me from my negative feelings about my hair and myself.

This year is very important to me. It represents a new beginning for ME.The blog and my hair stuff are just a drop in the bucket for the changes I have planned for 2013.Now I know there’s a saying “When we make plans,God laughs” and hopefully He won’t laugh too hard at me. I spent all of last year taking care of my family,which is great, but done in vain if I don’t take care of ME. Amani is always at the forefront of everything I say and do and if I follow my dreams and take care of myself then I can better serve her. 2013 is MINE!

5 responses »

  1. You definitely have to take care of you first in order to be in a position to take care of others. I’m glad that you’re going to chase as your passion of growing your blog and turning it into a brand. You’re definitely headed down the right path by doing your research. With some networking you can certainly Mommy In Color to the next level! Wish you the best of luck.s

Leave a Reply

