Say Yes!!!

Standard

 I was watching the commercial for a new episode of one of Amani”s favorite shows, Victorious, and the students had to face a challenge proposed by one of their teachers.He asked them to go an entire day saying yes to everything. The commercial ended with the students saying yes to ridiculous things ( popping someone’s back pimple, smelling a funky foot,etc…) But the teacher’s challenge did strike a chord with me.

Oftentimes, we go through our lives saying no. We turn down opportunities that we know will make us uncomfortable. That behavior keeps us in our safe zone while simultaneously turning down something that could uplift us emotionally, spiritually, and mentally. If we take risks, something bad may happen but if we don’t take risks, nothing happens. When it comes to following your dreams, it’s all about trial and error. You try one thing, maybe it doesn’t work, and you keep trying until something clicks and you strike gold.

Today I want to challenge all of my mommy friends to say yes to something they would normally dismiss. I know you’ve got more than enough on your plate with kids,work,school, and household duties but I’m talking about saying yes to something that is just for you. It will be scary and hard but I’m here  to encourage and support you. I’m not just talking the talk either. I too am saying yes.

When I had my 9-5, I was proud of myself for being able to give my daughter a little financial stability. I love most of my coworkers and learned a lot. But I wasn’t happy because I wasn’t passionate about my job. Hurricane Sandy, though it bought a lot of destruction, also pushed me to do what makes me happy. So I’ve given up my job and I’m saying yes to possible financial instability, possibly being rejected by the blog and writing community but I’m also saying yes to a happier me!

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for the post. I have trouble saying no and work on that a lot. It’s refreshing to read the opposite side. Congrats on plunging into financial insecurity. Hope everything turns out well.

  2. What a great post. This is definitely going to be difficult, but I’m going to say yes to something I probably would normally dismiss. Happy Sharefest. Following.

Leave a Reply

