Higher Learning

Standard
Now that I’m going to be spending time at home, I need to focus on getting Amani’s literacy, math, and reading skills up to par with a child going into the 1st grade. Amani is super smart and it doesn”t surprise me because she comes from a family of superior learners(hope that didn’t come out too cocky). When my younger brother and I were in grade school, we were both in gifted classes. I was always one reading grade level ahead of the rest of my class and my brother also did well. My mom is a gifted writer and avid reader as is my father so I know Amani is destined to do well. 
 
However, I really don’t know where to start with her. She uses a program right now called abcmouse.com. I like it because she can learn at her own pace and have fun doing it. She needs more structure,though.

In the next couple of weeks,I’m going to set up a learning sysytem for Amani. I want it to cover everything she’ll need to know for first grade plus extra stuff that will be ahead of her grade level. I am going to mostly be using teachmama.com as a guide and what I like about that site is that it gives a whole bunch of other resources for ideas that u can use in your own lesson plans.

I’m so excited about this new project. It involves two of my favorite things: Amani and education. She has a thirst for learning as most children do and like a plant, I must water her (I know: mad cliche and cheesy, but still true). I’ve seen alot of moms and dads complain that their school system is failing their children and my question is always “What are you doing with them at home?”

I will share everything I come up with in case you guys want to try it and let me know how it works out for you and if u made any changes, I want to know those to. Together, we can prepare our children to compete with those in private schools. Remember, it takes a village…!

4 responses »

  1. I am going to have to check these sites out! My son is struggling in school right now, tho, I don’t think its so much that he doesn’t know or doesn’t get it, but that he is lazy and would rather rush thru everything to be done. He is on punishment for the next month (lol) so maybe this will be something he can do instead of nothing! 🙂 Thanks!!

  2. I’m so glad that I’m not having to do this now. It would be so hard. It gets more competitive out there every year. I’m not sure what system my daughter uses but she does teach at home. I don’t say home school yet because they aren’t school age.

Leave a Reply

