8 Week Protective Style Challenge:Weeks 4-6

Standard

Last week was my one month anniversary of the 8 week protective style challenge. The day before I decided to prepoo my hair with ORS Hair Mayo, which is a protein conditioner. I left it in overnight, which I don’t think was the  best idea because the directions didn’t say I should do that. But I am still new to this natural hair journey and I was bound to make a mistake…or two.

Although I left the mayo in overnight, I was really paranoid about my hair falling out in clumps so I washed it out first thing in the morning on wash day. Every month, the care of your hair is a little extra. You have to wash it with either a clarifying or chelating shampoo,deep condition, hot oil treat, and L.O.C. I did all of the above. I used ORS Clarifying shampoo and deep conditioned with ORS HAIRepair Nourishing Conditioner. I did a hot oil treatment, washed it out after 30 minutes, then shampooed again.

I put my hair in 4 bantu knots and let it air dry overnight. The next morning, the ends were a little damp and the rest was dry. Once the hair was completely dry, I put the bantus back in because I was feeling them. A few days later, I put my sock bun back in. I’ve completely abandoned my phony ponytail. I pulled the bun low and off to the side.
image
My hair in bantu knots, not the most elegant but it will do!

Week 5’s hair day was pushed back two days because I had to have work done in my bathroom. I prepoo’d with ORS Hair Masque and the following day it was business as usual. I mentioned before that I was concerned about breakage and I found a regimen that I’ll be starting after this challenge is over.

If the new regimen fails, I will book a hair consultation at Miss Jessie’s Hair Salon.I’ve seen Miss Jessie’s hair products advertised in beauty supplies stores all over my neighborhood but I never knew there was a salon. I found it at the forums at CurlyNikki.com. It’s a $75 non refundable fee for the consultation and you get advice on what will be best for your hair. If you want them to do your hair right then and there, they will or you can come another time to get it done. If that doesn’t work for me, the big chop will still be in the back of my mind.

image
Products used during challenge
From left:ORS HAIRepair Intense Moisture Creme,ORS Hair Mayonnaise,ORS Olive Oil Hair Masque, Curl Care by Dr.Miracles Rehydrating Shampoo, ORS Olive Oil Smooth ‘n’ Hold Pudding

image
More products used for challenge
From Left: Curls Unleashed sulfate free shampoo, ORS HAIRepair Anti-breakage creme, ORS Uplifting Shampoo(chelating shampoo), ORS Olive Oil Aloe Shampoo(clarifying shampoo)

Week 6, I used a different deep conditioner. It was ORS Replenishing Conditioner and I’v ejust fallen in love with ORS products but alas, I’ve realized I’m a product junkie, lol. But since I’ve been doing the challenge, I wanted to have an array of products to choose from and Im done buying products..at least until what I have runs out.The thing I”ve learned is that because I have breakage issues I’ve only been L.O.C.ing with my anti-breakage creme and nothing else. I received my copy of Better Than Good Hair by Nikki Walton and finished it in three days. It gave a wealth of advice and it pushed me to instead of doing a big chop, I’ve decided to trim my split ends. I know it seems a little counterintuitive to do that after doing all the work for 2 months to gain more length only to cut it off. But the main goal here is always the same: healthy hair!

image
My products! Don’t judge me!

3 responses »

  1. I just recently big chopped and I already know I’m gonna be a product junkie! I hope I find the right products soon though! I never knew there was a Miss Jessie’s salon either! It’s good they have one in your area! I wish they had on in mine!

  2. Pingback: How I Take Care of my Cooky Curly Hair | Mommy In Color

Leave a Reply

