The End &The Beginning

Standard

The last two weeks of the protective style challenge were a bust. My brother came into town for his birthday with his three children and I spent all my free time with them while they were here. I washed and coditioned but neglected my L.O.C. and did not protect my ends.
I must admit that I got sick of keeping up with the routine and I started getting lazy. I.still enjoyed taking a nice hot shower and taking the time to “make love” to my hair but protecting my ends became a chore and like a bratty kid I didn’t want to do it. However, these last two months did teach me alot.

I enjoyed doing research about all the different products I used and passing along my research to others. I always felt that moms should always pamper themselves and taking care of my hair is going to be one of the ways I pamper myself. I have become more in tune with my hair and have learned to not resent it. I thank God for giving it to me. The challenge did deliver results,though. I didn’t expect to become Rapunzel in 2 months but I expected to learn how to get my hair on a healthier track. Here is where my hair is now:

image

 

image

It did get thicker and a little bit longer and my “rough patch” is not as rough as it used to be.It’s softer and I’ve even gotten the courage to.”dust” it myself. No big chop for me!
I’m jumping into another challenge. I got it from the Good Hair Diaries and it will only last a month.It will concentrate on my breakage probem. I’ve already prepped my hair for it by prepooing it with Profectiv Anti Breakage Detangling Conditioner and tomorrow is wash day. The updates will come weekly and here are the products I will be using:
image
From Left:Curl Care by Dr.Miracles Rehydrating Shampoo,ORS Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner,coconut oil, ORS Hair Mayo, Goya Olive Oil,ORS HAIRepair Anti-Breakage Strengthener Creme, Aphogee Keratin 2 minute Reconstructor, and ORS Aloe Shampoo

14 responses »

  1. Stopping in from SITS. I hear olive oil is a miracle product! I read somewhere that it’s good to put it on your feet and then wear heavy socks over it before bed. Good luck with the challenge!

  2. Olive oil and castor oil are the greatest things ever. My mom used olive oil on our skin and hair religiously when we were little. Castor oil is great for stimulating growth and protecting against balding spots. I’ve even tried organic veggie oil on my hair.

    I have to say that the veggie oil did make my hair super soft and I’ve noticed that my hair doesn’t shed as much. I love that I don’t always have to break the bank stocking up on products. I also love the fact that just about any kind of natural oil is good for your hair and to use on your skin.

  3. Hi! I’ve been natural for five years now. I’ll admit, it has been a challenge! One thing I’ve learned though, is that what works for one person(no matter how great the product is) doesn’t necessarily work for someone else. I love the versatility of natural hair. I can either wear it with my natural curl pattern or I can wear it thermal pressed. My reasoning for going natural was to get off the creamy crack! Lol! Thanks for stopping by and helping me celebrate my SITS Day! Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

