Wrestlemania 29

Standard

The other night,my family and I watched WWE’s Wrestlemania 29. It was my first time watching wrestling in about six years. My brother L, and I started watching it in 1996.We were watching WCW and soon discovered WWF. The first night we watched it I saw The Rock for the first time. From that day on every Monday and Thursday me,L,and my late Aunt Jeanette were glued to the television for two hours straight. Mommy N would order the pay-per-view evets for us if we promised to got to bed right after it went off.

My favorite wrestlers were Stone Cold Steve Austin,Triple H, The Rock,Chris Jericho,and the Undertaker.I also had wrestlers that were just attractive to me. As L and I got older, we stopped watching wrestling as much and found new interests.My Aunt Jeanette still watched it every now and then but I guess for her it wasn’t the same without us. My other brother X, and his father watched it faithfully but I realized alot of the wrestlers I had known were either retired or dead.

I decided to watch Wrestlemania 29 because a few of my faves were going to be there defending either their honor or championship belt.I was excited to see The Rock v. John Cena, Undertaker v. CM Punk, and Triple H v. Brock Lesnar. We gathered around the television and it felt like old times. We had snacks and me and X reminisced about when we used to reenact matches when we were kids and my Uncle and stepfather talked about the days of wrestling in the 70s and 80s. As we watched Undertaker perform his signature moves and Triple H get the crowd hyped up for what was definitely going to be classic Triple H.

I had so much fun and I screamed so loud I became hoarse. Amani was supposed to watch it with us because The Rock was voted Favorite Buttkicker in this year’s Kid’s Choice Awards and I told her that The Rock was a wrestler and had been for years. But her baby fatigue set in and she was asleep long before his match came up.

While my heart raced as I cheered on Triple H,I couldn’t help but think about my Aunt Jeanette and how she would have loved being right in the middle of all of all that hootin’ and hollerin’. I’m sorry that I didn’t continue watching wrestling with her when I thought it was for babies and I realize that all those Mondays and Thursdays weren’t necessarily about the sweaty, bulky, tall, young..sorry…wrestlers but it was always about spending time with my family. Thank you,Wrestlemania 29, for bringing an old and forgotten tradition back into my life and for reminding me that the feeling of comraderie is the best when it’s with family.

2 responses »

  1. I haven’t watched wrestling since I was a kid back in the 50s, but my Mom and Dad watched it with me back then…I had my favorites; The Argentina Rocker, (who wrestled barefoot) is the only one I can remember, now. We did some hootin’ and hollerin’ back then, too. I’ve never seen The Rock wrestle, but I’ve seen him in movies and on talk shows and I agree–he is really, really hot! I just stopped by from SITS to say hello; hope you find time to return the visit!

Leave a Reply

