Bubba’s Bantu Knot Out

Standard

I’ve been asked about how I’m able to achieve Bubba’s bouncing curls without the use of a curling iron. My answer is: a bantu knot out. Unfortunately, alot of the moms in my neighborhood& social circle don’t know what that is,so I’ve decided to detail the process for everyone.

The first thing I do in preparation for the knot out is pre poo Bubba’s hair with either EVOO or (in this case) PROFECTIV Anti Breakage Detangling Conditioner. I used this because lately I’ve been having trouble with detangling Bubba’s hair. Its been really dry but I think that has to do with the cold and dry weather we’ve had recently. Anyway,I tie her hair into four (almost equal) sections and let the hair sit for about 30 minutes.

Once it was time to shampoo, I used Creme of Nature sulfate free shampoo,which is gentler on her hair. The thing to remember about shampooing is that you don’t have to add shampoo to the entire length,just the scalp. When you rinse, the water will cause the soap to trickle down the rest of the hair shaft,effectively cleaning it.Also, each section gets one wash and that’s it.

I use a instant conditioner after washing. An instant conditioner is one that you leave in for a few minutes and then rinse out. Bubba has low tolerance for wash day ,so the quicker I do things the better, lol. She loves VO5 Moisture Milks Conditioner (Strawberries&Cream). I comb it through her hair with a wide tooth shower comb. It helps with detangling& getting the conditioner evenly through the hair. Works like a charm!

Her hair goes back into four ponytails,so I can LOC(while the hair is damp,I add my oil combo which is avocado&EVOO and then a moisturizing creme). I let it air dry for awhile because I’m going to be using gel for the knots and they have to be completely dry before I take them down the next day.
image Hair sectioned in four parts

The knots are very easy. All your doing is a simple two strand twist and then wrapping the twist around itself. Normally, they will stay wrapped up but when I do it,I have to use a rubberband to get it to stay put. You can make however many rows you want with however many knots you want in each row. Just make sure that you grease the scalp with your oil of choice as you go along. I used castor oil and ECO Styler gel to have less frizz during the takedown.The results were amazing!
image

The knots can be worn as is,because its like a cute punk rock look. Bubba,however, prefers just the curls

image

The takedown the next morning. You unravel the knots in a counterclockwise direction. If you want more volume, unravel the twists a little more and then use an afro pick to pick the scalp a little bit. Once again Bubba prefers a sleeker looking curl which I don’t mind because the curl will start off tighter and during the course of the day, they will loosen up.

image
image

image

IS THE BANTU KNOT OUT A STYLE YOU WILL BE TRYING/HAVE TRIED ON YOUR DAUGHTER? IF SO, SEND ME A PIC OF THE RESULTS AND I’LL BE HAPPY TO SHARE THEM ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE!

Leave a Reply

