Growing Up

Standard

Recently,I went to my best friend’s baby shower. She just had a gorgeous little girl& I wanted to see how motherhood was changing her. I remember how it changed me (for the better) and it was she seemed so happy with her new role in life.

A few weeks later,we had a phone conversation and we talked about how much our lives’ and our friends’ lives have changed. Two of my closest friends are married,my best friend is getting married next year,and most
of us are parents. All I can think is ‘When did we grow up? How did we go from cutting class in high school to becoming parents and spouses?’ Our lives aren’t turning out the way we planned (but then again you know what they say “When you make plans,God laughs”),life is just…happening to us.

I have to admit although I am the best mother I can be,I’m not just a mom.I used to be a teenager with dreams of taking the journalism world by storm. Now,I’m a woman in my almost(four months to be exact) mid-twenties who is running out of time to be all that she can be and is not as confident in her dream as she used to be. My friends are accomplishing so much and I’m just…stuck!As proud as I am of my friends,I am a tad jealous of them.

My best friend helped me focus on what I need to do.She reminded me that I’m not a little girl anymore and if I keep accepting the way things are now,they’ll NEVER change.She even gave me a three month deadline to get my self together(the audacity of that heifer). I’m going to pull myself out of this little rut,put my big girl panties on,and…GROW UP!!!
image

The tall glass of chocolate milk in the back is one of my closest friends who is commited to his bachelor lifestyle( he doesn’t count regarding this post) and the lovely lady on the right is my bff.Doesn’t motherhood look good on her?

2 responses »

  1. Jennice,

    You are one of the strongest most determined women I have ever had the blessing to meet. To this day I still consider you family.Do not give up on your dreams. Maybe you just need a new plan, new perspective.We may make our plans, but God has the last word. {Proverbs 16:1} God gives each and everyone of us a story. Our struggles can be opportunities in disguise. God gave you the talent of writing for a reason! I can relate with the “feeling behind” I feel like so many people I know are having kids, getting married or in super serious relationships. Sometimes I catch myself becoming upset or jealous and realize that my time will come god willing! The older we get life seems to fly by! Make the best of the mid-twenties!!

    -Kayla

Leave a Reply

