Always Something There To Remind Me

Standard

This is a post inspired by today’sDaily Prompt. Hope you’ll be listening to your favorite songs while reading this!
My playlist is filled with songs that bring up both good and bad memories or evoke strong emotions that I’m currently dealing with or have dealt with. I think its important to listen to the songs that bring bad memories so I’m reminded of where I’ve used to be and where I am now.Here are four of the songs that are constantly on repeat and why.

1)Don’t You (Forget About Me) by Simple Minds- Everyone knows this song as the theme song to the movie The Breakfast Club.However,I automatically am reminded of my ex boyfriend. Remember the scene where Molly Ringwald put her diamond earring in Judd Nelson’s hand? Well, my ex did the same thing with his earring while we were watching that scene.It was the sweetest thing he’d ever done for me. Unfortunately, like the relationship, the earring is aslo lost.I lost it before we broke up,so maybe that was a sign.
Fave Lyric: “Slow change may pull us apart,when the light gets into your heart”

2)For The Good Times by Al Green- In my opinion,Al Green was an expert at making a song that just made you want to rip your heart out and give it to your ex. For me,I think about two events in my life:the last time my family spent the day together at Coney Island and accepting my mother’s death.
Fave Lyric: “Don’t look so sad, I know its over.But life goes on and this world keeps on turning.Let’s just be glad we had this time to spend together”.

3)Got To Be There by Michael Jackson- Any true MJ fan had that ONE song that defines that one person or situation in their lives.Every time I hear this song,I think of Bubba.When I had to leave her to work,she would sometimes cry for me to stay home and I wanted to.I had to remind myself that I was working to provide for her.At the same time, I didn’t want to miss any part of her growing up.It was a “damned if I do,damned if I don’t” situation.
Fave Lyric: “Cause when I look in her eyes, I realize I need her sharing her world beside me”

4)My Girl by The Temptations- My grandfather used to sing this song to my grandmother when he’d done something wrong and wanted to get back in her good graces.I like to think its about me,because my birth month is mentioned, lol
Fave Lyric: “I’ve got sunshine on a cloudy day.When its cold outside,I’ve got the month of May”

WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS?WHY?

3 responses »

  1. Songs can be musical land mines when it comes to our emotions! It’s amazing what they can evoke. I especially love feeling the tide of emotions because it takes me back. whether good or not. Love your choices! It is interesting to think how much a song can actually speak to you.

  2. You’ve just reminded me of some I have forgotten. 🙂 Now I will have that song stuck in my head all day, which isn’t a bad thing. I really have enjoyed ‘Try’ by Colbie Calliat but man now I am stuck and can’t think of much more. I need to give these songs a listen…
    Always something there to remind me…. :)))))

Leave a Reply

