You May Quote…#9

Standard

Today marks the 6th anniversary of the shocking death of Michael Jackson. I can’t believe its been that long already and I still can’t believe he is gone from us. In him, we lost an amazing talent for music, lyrics, and dance. For me personally, Michael was a example of how even when people are prejudiced of your uniqueness as a person, you HAVE to keep doing the thing that brings you joy and happiness. I’ve been a hardcore fan of Michael’s since I was 13 years old. Being that age things are changing physically, emotionally,and mentally and I needed something that would keep all these things in balance. Michael’s music fueled my passion for writing and encouraged to continue to march to the beat of my own drum.

The day he passed away, I had just come home from picking Bubba up from daycare. As soon as I closed the door behind me, the news reporter said “Michael Jackson has passed away”. I sent Bubba (then 2 years old) into my room where my brother was playing video games. My biological mother was sitting on the couch watching me. I sat at the dining room table and just stared off into space. I heard my mother’s slippers sliding into the kitchen. I got up and walked into the kitchen behind her and she just grabbed me to her chest and held me. I let loose sobs that I didn’t realize I would ever make. My adopted mother called from work and asked to speak to me. I was crying so hard that she couldn’t make out anything I was saying. She said “I’m on my way home” and an hour later she was holding me and telling me everything was going to be okay. My best friends also called and one asked “Are you going to kill yourself or somethin’ like that?” I actually laughed and assured that friend that I was saddened, not crazy or stupid.I watched the memorial service on television with my adopted mom and we both cried. She grew up as a fan of his music and now a part of her childhood had died. For me it was a bit more dramatic and I felt like a kindred spirit was forever lost to me.

Six years later, Bubba is now a HUGE fan of Michael’s(refuses to watch the Thriller video but has no problem watching zombies get their faces blown off on Walking Dead). Her favorite song is Black or White. She has learned through that song that everyone is different and you should love them for what they look like on the inside, not the outside. Six years later, Michael may have faded from a lot of people’s memories, but still burns vividly in my mind and heart. Whenever I can’t get words on paper, I listen to Loving You ( true fans know I am NOT talking about Who’s Loving You). When I think about Bubba, I hear Got To Be There. When I am smitten with someone I hear The Way You Make Me Feel,when I feel like dancing I hear Enjoy Yourself, and when I miss my mom I hear Will You Be There? So many songs for so many different emotions. That’s true genius and that is a true gift from God.

Leave a Reply

