Top 5 Favorite Songs As A Child

Standard

Growing up in my household there was really only one type of music allowed in my house: gospel. On the weekends,my mom would play gospel music all day while us kids formed a singing group and sang along with the music. My mom grew up in church and her grandparents owned their own church. Attendance was mandatory. Despite the ban on other music, I would hide out in my room with my Walkman and listen to Radio Disney. Radio Disney was a kid friendly music station that played popular hits but nothing vulgar or inappropriate. I was obsessed with it. Radio Disney was my introduction to N’Sync and the Backstreet Boys. Also,I was the ONLY black child in my group of friends that knew what Radio Disney was. Here are my top 5 favorite songs growing up:
1) Allstar by Smashmouth-Growing up,I wasn’t very popular and this song was my “You got this girl” anthem.
Favorite lyric-
Somebody once asked could I spare some change for gas,I need to get myself away from this place.
I said yep,what a concept
I could use a little fuel myself
And we can all use a little change

2) Drowning by The Backstreet Boys-This song solidified the boys as one of the greatest boy bands ever. Kevin.was.the cutest,especially after he ket his hair grow long. No,this is not up for debate.

Favorite Lyric:
Maybe I’m a drifter
Maybe not
‘Cause I have known the safety
Of falling free into your arms

I don’t need another lifeline
It’s not for me
It’s only you can save me
Oh, can’t you see?

3)The Hamsterdance by Hampton the Hamster- This song was pure fun with a “hamster” squeaking out nonsensical lyrics. Its actually a song my daughter loves now.

Favorite Lyric:
Just tap your feet
And clap your hands
Come on everybody
It’s the hamster dance!

Take some time
Do the beat
You don’t even have to move your feet
Just shake your hand, I want to see you move
Now spin around and feel the groove

4) Rain In Your Life by Tommy Ellison and The Singing Stars- This is a beautiful gospel song that taught me a valuable lesson really early in life. I couldn’t find any lyrics so here’s the song(no video):

5) Strangers Like Me by Phil Collins- Who doesn’t have a favorite Disney movie song? This one is a favorite because my youngest brother is rrreeaalllyy into Phil Collins so Im always hearing it. I think the Tarzan movie soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever!

Favorite Lyric:
Every gesture
Every move that she makes
Makes me feel like never before
Why do I have this growing need to be beside her
There are some emotions that I never knew
Some for the world far beyond this place
Beyond the trees, above the clouds
I see before me a new horizon

This was a fun post to do and thanks to Mama Kat for hosting another awesome prompt. Head on over to her blog and join the fun!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

