National Puppy Day or, My Puppies That Are Really Cats

Standard

I lllooovvee animals! I’m constantly watching all sorts of amazing animal documentaries and when Big Cat Week aired two weeks ago, I was in animal heaven. I’m also curious how people interact with their animals so I also enjoy shows like Too Cute and My Cat From Hell. I just love animals! So I’m excited for this week’s prompt from Mama Kat which involves puppies. March 23rd is National Puppy Day and even though I’m not a puppy owner,I do have two cats that I love.

I owned a kitten named Puma, 5 years ago and she was the first animal I ever owned. She contracted fleas from her mother and I had to give her up to my neighbor. That was a heartbreaking experience but I knew I would be an animal owner again.someday. Enter Tootie and Sanai. A relative moved in with us a winter and a half ago and she bought Tootie and Sanai with her.

I welcomed the chance to care for them because I felt like a failure with Puma. I knew I couldn’t go all out and raise them the way I wanted to because they weren’t mine,technically. But, I needed validation that I could be a good pet parent. My relative moved out almost three months later, but she didn’t have a place to lodge the cats. She entrusted them to me because she knew I had previously owned and loved a cat. I immediately set to work forming a relationship with both cats based on their individual personalities. Speaking of which:

image
This is Sanai. She is 4 years old and the expression on her face sums up jer personali. She is ornery, tempermental, and snobby. She was tough to get close to and it took about 6 months for her to trust me. She hates lots of people in the areas she considers hers and has NO problem letting you know she’s uncomfortable with a sassy hiss. I have to say that although her attitude may be off putting to some, it’s endearing to me. She comes to get me out of the living room when I haven’t gone to bed by 11pm and her favorite activity(aside from sleeping) is standing guard in the kitchen waiting on a mouse to appear. Little does she know, we don’t have mice.
image
This lean lady is Tootie. She is three years old and is the life of the party! Amani and her are bosom buddies who enjoy chasing each other around the house. Tootie is always looking for ways to entertain herself,which can land her in trouble. Unlike her sister, Tootie is very sweet natured and likes being held. Her lean stature allows her to run and jump to her heart’s content,much to the chagrin of her sister,Sanai.

Both cats are very dear to me and I enjoy watching them enjoy being with us. I know that my relative will be coming to get them soon,but for now they’re my girls and I love them!

7 responses »

  1. I thought I was cheating by using this prompt and talking about a 4 year old dog. Now I feel much better because you used it to talk about puppy-cats. lol! They are SO cute! I love dogs, but I am a cat lady through and through!

Leave a Reply

