#JumpstartYourJournal Day 5- Permission 

Standard

It’s our last day of the #JumpstartYourJournal challenge
Today’s prompt is PERMISSION
What does your “dream life” look like? Are you currently living it? If not, what is holding you back from being there? Is there something standing in your way? Do you give yourself permission to be free in all possible ways?

HERE IS MY dream life

Picture it, New York 2020:

I live in a predominantly African American neighborhood, Addisleigh Park,in my native home of Queens,New York City. I just got my driver’s license(“Finally!”my mother says)and now I can drive Amani to her ballet class instead of schlepping her back and forth on the bus.


My (future) home in Addisleigh Park

During the day,I’m a school safety officer. I’ve been assigned to an elementary school in my neighborhood. I like that because it allows me to be at home when Amani arrives from her afterschool activities. I cook dinner twice a week and once a month we do a take out night. Usually that’s the day my mom visits. She’s so judgemental about my cooking, I rather eat out. She babysits for me 2x a month so that I can have a night out. Sometimes that’s date night,other times it’s girls’ night.

I have a boyfriend. We’ve been seriously dating for a year. He’s a city employee with aspirations of becoming a businessman in the music industry. I met him at a singles event a friend of mine hosted.

My blog is doing well. I’m starting to get a few paying gigs and more connections in the blogging/online media world. My current goal is to get a column in Ebony magazine. Not sure how I’m going to be able to handle work,Amailni and her activities,and a column when I start attending school to become a veterinarian next Fall. Well,I did make this far…

AND YES, I GIVE MYSELF PERMISSION TO BE THIS WOMAN IN THREE YEARS!!!

Leave a Reply

