School of Not-So -Hard Knocks

Standard

Here in NYC, the children have started school. My luscious Amani is a proud, but cautious, fourth grader. The air is changing and I’ve had to dig up her jacket for our walks to school in the morning. Everything is changing. Including me.

For those of you who have stuck it out and been following me here, I recently started a morning routine suggested by a friend called The Miracle Morning.  I have started it and failed…twice. Today was my third attempt and it went well. I’m going to stick with it this time. I am so stoked. But on my journey of self care, I’ve gotten sucked into another self help type book called 
“>Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic For A Simpler,More Soulful Way of Living by Shauna Niequist. 
It’s a mouthful,right? It was recommended by the swme friend who recommended Miracle Morning.I could always use a little guidance when it comes to self care.
But that’s not all I’ve gotten up to to keep myself busy. I was thinking of doing more visual type things here and in an effort to get some really good practice, I’ve started a Periscope account. And I’ve joined a FB group called PeriGirls. They are a group of fabulous women who come from all walks of life and have come together to lift each other up via social media. We do Pass The Cast, PeriokeDaily Assignments, and Saturday Express. It’s so much fun,we learn alot from each other,and it’s  easy to sign up. Oh, and everything has a theme. I’m way more comfortable recording myself so you’ll be seeing me alot more. 

To make myself feel more useful around my house until I’ve found decent outside work again, I’ve joined a Facebook group called FEEL GOOD MAMA ESSENTIALS and right now it’s  holding a Back to School Camp For Moms which helps moms make the most of their household chores and manage time better. I’ll be a regular June Cleaver in no time.

Last but not least, there is my bookstagram. I have a library card with no over due fees that Im ready burn like a Black card. I am obsessed with books but as of late I’m finding it hard to finish them. I posted a Victorian Reading Challenge that I fully intended to keep up with but…Im going to have to move that to next year. I have some great books I’m actually reading on there as well as some bookish podcasts I’ve discovered.  If you’re REALLY my peoples you’ll follow me at concreterosereads

What’s new or changing in September for you? Are you making any personal changes? Let me know what’s good in the comments!!!

Leave a Reply

