Writer’s Workshop :My First Bra

I found out thanks to Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop that October 13th is National No Bra Day. So,in honor of this fabulous female friendly holiday here is my first bra story. Enjoy!

I don’t remember if getting my first bra was a big deal. I remember where my mom bought it. It was this kids boutique in Harlem called Lazarus. She bought all of my brothers’ and mine’s clothes from there. The best thing I ever remember getting from there was this Tweety Bird outfit. I was obsessed with Tweety Bird as a kid and my mom found these Tweety t- shirt and legging sets and I loved them.

Anyway, I dont remember what my cup size was but I remember the bra was white silk. I liked the way it felt on my skin and it made me feel really grown up. My mom bought me two and said she would get me more as I grew. She was always very open about puberty,sex,and my body so neither one of us was overly emotional about it. I knew this day would come and it was no big deal.
image
A year and a half before “the bra”

There was never a return trip to buy more bras from Lazasrus. Only a few months after getting my first bras,my cup size had doubled and I way past “training” stage. My mom seemed really crushed because I was no longer able to fit into Lazarus’ clothing or bras.  I was a woman now.

And yes, I slept in my bras nightly…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kat says:

    I have a sister that would have killed for that kind of growth! 😉 At least your mom followed up with additional bras!

    Like

  2. The Rambler says:

    Ha, I remember buying my daughter her first bra last year. That was a little emo for me. Blink of an eye…and they bloom overnight. #sitsblogging

    Like

    1. mommyincolor says:

      Girl, my daughter is going to be 9 in a couple weeks and she already wears sports bras. I know she is going to be a very busty woman. I can’t take it!

      Like

Leave a comment